BFA Industrial Design Application Portfolio

I’m a mechanical engineer trying to get into a design school with the goal of earning a BFA in Industrial Design. I’m looking at CCS mostly because it’s so close to home. My goal is to enroll in the fall 2007 semester.

My one hang-up is my portfolio – I don’t have one and I don’t know what to put in one. I’ve seen a lot of portfolios from people who have graduated with a BFA in ID and are looking for a job in ID, but I haven’t found any examples of industrial design school application portfolios.

Up until recently, I haven’t taken any art classes since freshman year of high school (9 years ago). Since deciding that Industrial Design is what I really want to do I have devoted myself to getting a portfolio together. Right now, I’m taking a basic drawing class at night at CCS. The teacher in this class has told me that I really have the talent and feel for form, texture, shape, etc. to get into the ID program there. I am planning on taking some classes for credit at the local community college next semester (starting in January) – drawing, design, and figure drawing are on my list. I also bought a few books to guide me along on my free time (Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, The Natural Way to Draw). I’m in to photography as well, so I have a large base of work there – mostly landscapes, travel, nature, animals, etc.

My question is: What should I include in my application portfolio? Would the basic drawings of gourds, stuffed animals and blocks I’m doing in beginning art classes be good enough? Should I come up with some basic product designs and include those drawings? Could I include any of my photographs or would ID programs prefer sketches and drawings? CCS wants 10-20 pieces in an application portfolio – if you were applying as a freshman ID student what would you include?