Better to get ME degree during or after undergrad?

Hey guys, I am currently a third year design student at Georgia Tech. I recently found much interet in obtaining some sort of Mechanical Engineering degree. I just wanted to ask for opinions or advice on either obtaining this degree by double-majoring (so two undergraduate degrees) or going to grad school for ME. Thanks!

I do not mean to discourage you by any means but . . .

without a degree in engineering, math or physics you will be very hard pressed to be admitted to any graduate programs in any branch of engineering.

If you want to get a degree in mechanical engineering, you are going to need to complete an undergraduate program. You are looking at pretty much another 3 years unless your ID program contains:

• 3 courses of calculus
  • differential equations
  • physics (likely 2-3 classes)
  • chemistry
  • statics
  • dynamics
  • materials science
  • strength of materials
  • thermodynamics (likely 2 courses)
  • heat and mass transfer
  • mechanical design
  • fluid mechanics
  • design of thermal systems
  • numerical methods
  • design of controls
  • experimental methods
  • manufacturing processes

best of luck

At this time, do you see yourself working as a designer or an engineer after you graduate?

I see myself working as a designer, but it’s all about “what makes me better than the guy interviewing next to me” right? I just want to create a competitive knowledge that makes me a prime candidate for future jobs in design firms or even corporate level. My dream job is to be a car designer, but I understand how competitive the field is and the only way to get hired is to graduate from a top car design school.

Quite frankly, I’m very nervous about life after college in terms of my future career… just looking for advice…