best way to render in photoworks(solidworks)

what is theh best way to save a photoworks rendering? jpeg or tiff etc?

what file types can be opened in rhino and 3ds max from solidworks?

jpeg

igs

iges is a rapid prototype file not a picture file!
isn’t tif the best?

ufo answered your questions correctly

Jpg is a common compression and used widely. If you want to keep all information tiff is good but you get huge file sizes.

For transfer to other programs like Rhino and 3DS Max then you need a neutral CAD file that can be opened in those programs (which are 3D progs as well) IGS is a good format. step seems to work as well.

and stl’s?

My background is with Alias, and working knowledge of a number of solid modellers, but the same principles should apply…

re Tiff/Jpg, given how cheap mass storage is these days, I usually start with textures, decals etc. at a fairly high resolution and in lossless tiff format so that my final renders are not let down by the source images. I only use lower quality when rendering time is a factor. As far as rendered output’s concerned, I usually output Tiff, then create lower res JPGs when required (email etc). Any quality printing will be from the original TIFF to ensure crisp edges and avoid the weird colour averaging that can become more noticeable, the higher the compression you use on JPGs.