best ergonomic work chair? come on people, I need help here!

After being in hospital for an extreme pain condition brought on by an old back injury, I have decided to purchase a new work chair. The chair I currently have has apparently aggravated my back, according to my doctor.

So here is my question, which is the best ergonomic work chair on the market. I am currently considering the Herman Miller Mirra chair?

Aaron… it don’t get more ergonomic than that.

the Aaron chair is over priced and over rated. If you have used one, you will know that over time they sag a bit and become uncomfortable. Anyway that is my experience with them. Plus, all the people I don’t like seem to have them?

Hi There,
i’ve been a task seating designer for three years and two years ago I broke my back in two places. Three months after my spinal fusion surgery (fusion of l1,l2 and t12) I was at the Orgatec furniture fair in Cologne. After trying many task chairs out I’d say The Aaron ‘Posture-fit’ was the best and then the Human Scale Freedom chair. I liked the Aaron ‘Posture-fit’ the best because it rotates the users pelvis to facilitate good working posture instead of forcing it with the traditional lumbar support.

Hope you find the right chair for you.

First off, it’s AERON not AARON, and I think that this chair is over-rated. I would take a Mirra over the Aeron any day. I sat down with a Herman Miller rep for almost an hour and I was never able to find a size or adjustment for the Aeron that made me feel as comfortable as a standard Mirra.

I would have to agree with l1 that the Humanscale Freedom Chair was one of the most comfortable chairs I have experienced. It seemed to be fairly affordable compared to other “ergonomic” task chairs. I really like the whole HumanScale chair line. I can’t wait until the Liberty chair becomes available in January. I am trying to talk a few clients into this chair and I am crossing my fingers that I get one for myself.