Best Complimentary Minor

Hello everyone,
I’m new to the Core77 forums and am currently enrolled at Virginia Tech as a first year Industrial Design student. Along with this major, I am pursuing a business minor because I felt that it would be useful to have business knowledge in the design world. However, I was wondering what would be the best choice for me during school.
I noticed that many industrial design firms also specialize in packaging, which is a minor here as well. Should I pursue a ID Major with a Business minor and Packaging minor? Or perhaps business would be of no benefit to me at all? Should I drop business and just pursue packaging? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

What ever you do don’t drop business. It will benefit you much more than some specific packaging courses. Take some of the packaging stuff as electives just to get a feel for it if you can. I wouldn’t pigeon hole yourself too much at first until you really find out what you love doing.

Thanks! I figured that general background would be useful but I was getting very hesitant because I am obviously learning very different things in ID and was worried that I wouldn’t be able to link them

Well, yes learning Trans. design is different from Footwear, but the core principles are all the same. Visualization, sketching, ideation, etc. I suggest taking a little taste of everything and refining the skills you enjoy and the ones you can see yourself doing. Not to say that someone who designs footwear can’t design a car…

Cultural Anthropology, or Cognitive Science.
Because design is about people.