Balancing career with relationships/family; etc... especially when our profession is limited by geography.

Hi all,

I was just curious if any of the more seasoned designers have had to sacrifice or adjust their industrial design dream careers in order to stay put in a particular region of the country that isn’t super ID/Design-centric and/or move their families or put relationships on hold to accommodate their careers? I was wondering how they dealt with it and if they had any advice for me?

A bit of background: I graduated with an ID degree in my mid 30s ten years ago; am no spring chicken. Did a few internships, and contract positions along the way, scored a big hit 6 years ago in a very well-known design-centric company, relocated for this position and pursued a semi-long-distance relationship with my significant other during that time in order to accommodate my blossoming ID career until that gig ended in early 2020. I am currently living with my partner of 15 years in the state of MN (he owns a home here), happy to be finally together after so many years of back and forth, bi-monthly hotel stays in between and meeting half way, etc. I am now collecting unemployment and wondering where my next gig will be (if at all!). Minnesota isn’t necessarily a huge mecca for ID like California or NY; apart from a few corporations (Target, Room and Board, Blu Dot, MadeSmart, 3M) and quite a few medical design-oriented firms + companies. But I am quite happy here, and was hoping to successfully continue my design career here; even if that means making some adjustments or moving into other areas of design where I can use my degree.