Bag Design and micro-manufacture

(insert Tim Gunn Accent) “Hello Designers” - This is my first post, so feel free to flame away… I probably deserve it.

I’m a firefighter and Dad full-time, a stitch engineer part-time in which I make stuff for cold hard cash. You might be asking; What is a stitch engineer? Well, a stitch engineer is someone who runs an industrial sewing machine to get desired technical results with different types fabric. Yes, I made all of that up… but its a lot “awesomer” than calling myself a seamstress. Plus, I’m a dude… no offense ladies.

That said, I’m looking to take my bags and utility items to another level. Right now, my bags are kind of boring, two tone and/or monolithic. They are very durable and serve the main design intent (take stuff from A to B).

Problems;

1. I can’t draw for schisse and I don’t have time to practice

2. I’m not schooled in the design aesthetics

So far, I have been able to build the things I see from other manufactures… but I don’t want to just be a knock-off type of guy. I do have some original ideas, but they need some refining. They need the hand and skill of someone that can draw/design better than myself at this point in time.

I’m in no position to hire a design firm at this point. So, I had better learn this stuff. I’m simply looking to learn more about soft-goods design. Where do I start… books, etc.?

You can see some of the stuff I’ve done here: http://www.caffeineindustries.com

All items were created and made be yours truly.

1. that is the best first post ever (perfect core77.com tone and hilarious)

2. super impressive stuff! Looks like you have a lot of skills on that thing!

3. where are you located?

4. I might be interested in throwing you a few sketches for free for fun. Shoot me an email.