bad student?

hey guys, I have a couple of worries about my architectural education and I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice.
Basically i’m not sure if i’m doing the right thing in architecture school, by this I mean the way I do the projects set.
I’m a very passionate student, and that I think (oddly enough) is my problem. Each architecture school has its own philosophy, mine seems to revolve around sustainable architecture, however, this does not appeal to me. I’m interested in other things architecturally, and so when we are assigned a project I par-take in my own architectural experiments beacuse I want to find something out, I want to see what happens by developing a certain concept I have. The problem is my designs are extremely ambitious (I like to push myself as much as possible) and we are only given 6 weeks on average to do all the work. So basically by the end of the 6 weeks I will have a design, but it does not work 100% beacuse I run out of time to make this dream idea work and secondly I do not have the adequate knowledge to make it work. When it comes to the crit my tutors commend my concept, but slaughter me saying I have not designed architecture but a sculpture, I have designed art not “architecture” as it does not work 100%. This frustrates me as I do not believe in this distinction and secondly beacuse I have put a lot of effort into something only for it to be slaughtered by the jury.
When we do a project I have my own ajendas, my own things that I want to find out, and each time I do these experiments I get closer and closer to getting the final answer. I question what my tutors tell me to do, I want to find out an answer to a question which they may not like. Overall, I feel like an outcast in my school and its getting me down, Ive seriously considered going into another design field or a design school which may embrace my visions and help me make them work.