Australian Mechanical Engineer thinking working ID in the US

Hi all,

Greetings from downunder all :slight_smile:, Great website!

I am about to finish my mechanical and manufacturing engineering degree and am considering moving to the United States to work for a industrial design company as an engineer/designer. I have done a couple of years of Architecture also, so I have some background in design. I am good with Solidworks in particular and have work experience in the manufacturing industry. I plan to make a shmick folio in the next 6 months before heading over and seeing what happens. I will try and line up a couple of interviews before I leave Australia…

A few questions:

1. whats the state of the industry at the moment over there(thinking of heading to LA specifically)? Are jobs abundant?

2. Is a person of my qualifications going to be sought after?

3. Any tips for me to make me more attractive to employers?

4. Am I crazy for just packing my bags and heading to your country to look for a job?

If all goes well I will need to return to australia with an official job offer to gain a visa to work in the US before flying back to work…

Any help would be advice would be greatly appreciated…

Cheers,
Phil

Depending on your sources, the economy in the US is bad or worse, although certain locations and industries still seem to be doing fine. Overall, there is a recession taking place, and in most areas jobs are not abundant. Being on the opposite side of the country, I don’t really know what things are like in LA. If nothing else, you will have an overwhelming amount of competition for openings posted online, and with so many qualified people around, being outside the country will be a major handicap.