ATTEN: POP people

can you offer me some insight to what your career as a Point of Purchase designer entails?

I’m a P-O-P Designer!
I used to work for an agency where you’d be doing different stuff everyday. Anything that your client would want, you’d design it for em’, kiosks, free-standing merchandisers, signage, packaging, brochures, menu cards, photo-shoots of hot beer babes, promotional premiums ext…

I’m now designing for a POP manufacturer so I pretty much design stuff that isn’t too far off base from our core products.

POP is usually broken down into 2 categories, temporary POP & Permanent POP.

Temporary is the seasonal promotional stuff, usually real nice printing mounted on low cost corrugated cardboard, something that will be thrown out at the end of the promo. If you’re into package design, this is probably up your alley.

Permanent POP is stuff made out of wire/ metal wood that will last in a store for over a year, commonly referred to as a “rack”.

If you tell people that you’re a POP Designer you may be asked, “Structural or conceptual?” Conceptual Designers draw the pretty pictures that the sales guys present to the client. The client picks out a winner and then takes it to the Structural Designer to figure out the nuts-n-bolts.

Then you get your boss to fork out some cash to enter your design into the POPAI show. This is it in a nutshell of course. To be a good POP designer you must know ALL OF THIS STUFF from concept to completion. Of course it takes time but I would consider it to be one of the most challenging and creative forms of advertising.

…here’s some POP publications you might want to check out…
http://www.hoytpub.com/

Povd@wg,