Ask me anything re: U.S.-China design work

Hi everyone, long-time reader of Core77 here. Core77’s community has been so helpful to me over my decade-long design career that I thought I should give back a little. So I’m inviting everyone to ask me questions—any questions related to being a designer in China vs. the US, working environments, design methodologies/philosophies, etc.—and I’ll answer them to the very best of my abilities, honestly and openly. Even if you hadn’t thought of Asia before or have no plans to ever step in Asia, I encourage you to be curious and inquire about design on the other side of the world.

(Moderators: Since I’m opening this up to those who aren’t necessarily interested in the specific topic of Asia but rather how design works in different parts of the world, I thought this would be more helpful in the General Discussion section. Hope this is OK.)

Just to give you a little bit of background:

• I am an American designer;
  • I’ve worked at in-house studios, independent design studios, and as a freelancer;
  • I was sent to Shanghai, China as an expatriate to serve as a Design Manager;
  • I work for a multi-billion-dollar, Fortune 500 company;
  • My work encompasses industrial design, package design, branding, and design strategy.

I’ll try to answer questions as long as the topic is active.

Cheers!

1. Do you work for a Chinese or American boss? Discuss about differences, challenges etc.

2. How much creative freedom do you have under your management? Chinese style of a “guru” boss or a more western approach of a “coach” boss?

3. How big is your organisation and how do you communicate? How is the cross-cultural team-work working out?

4. What’s your standard of living? Do you feel like you’re upper class super rich person in China, or would you actually be better off financially home in US, all things considered.