Ask: Designing for Manufacturer Without Meeting Face to Face

Hello all,

I am a new freelance product designer based in Asia and have a portfolio website. Recently I was contacted by Italian manufacturer and they said that they wanted me to design new collection for them with royalty based contract. I asked them if they could work with advance against royalties or commission and they agree. The problem is, I don’t have the budget to go to Europe and meet them directly at their office. If I agree to work with them, then all process and communication will be done via email.

My questions are:

• Should I take this opportunity without ever meeting them directly? We will sign the contract but we will never know if one of us break the rules in the future.
  • If it is alright, how much commission or advance payment should I ask? I know the standard in my country but not sure in Italy.
  • Is it alright to ask them to provide the transportation and accommodation if they tell me to go to their office in Italy?

Any comment and advice would be very appreciated. Thank you very much :smiley:

Sounds like a little fishy to me but it’s somewhat reassuring that they are willing to front some money. Other than that, it seems like standard 'spec work and we all know how that works out. I’ve done it before…then I learned. Did a bunch of work for a company and only received an office chair in return years afterwards. Granted, a very nice office chair that I’ve been using for 11 years, but still.