Art Major trying to break into Industrial Design

First off let me say I just recently found this website and can’t believe how amazing/helpful it is. I make it a point to read it everyday so thanks for having such a great site.

Now I’m currently finishing up my undergrad degree. I’m majoring in Art and have a minor in Physics. However I would really like to end up with a job in Industrial Design (my school didn’t offer anything close to an ID Degree).

My main question is what should my next step be? I originally thought my next step would be to get a masters in Industrial Design but just checking out University of Cincinnati and some other grad schools. They all seem to want you to have an Industrial Design undergrad degree (and in some cases work experience in the field).

So should I be looking into getting an undergrad degree in industrial design or are there grad schools that will take any undergrad degree for their id programs (I read here that Pratt had a program like this but I’m not sure how competitive it is or if its right for me.)? Or is there some other way to break into the industry?

I’m looking for any suggestions and thanks in advance for the help.

There are lots of posts that essentially boil down to the “to grad or not to grad?” question. My recommendation would be to apply to an undergrad program and see if you can wave 1-1.5 years and start as a 1st or second semester sophomore with all liberal arts classes waved.

Thank you for the suggestion Yo, (you always make really helpful posts). I’ll definitely look into seeing how many gen eds I can skip because I can’t really justify another full 4 years of undergrad, however 3 or so years seems manageable.

Anyone else have advice?

Yo’s right, There aren’t any shortcuts.
visit and apply to a wide variety of schools. are you applying now for Fall 09?