Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale Opinions?

I have a B.S. Degree in a Engineering related field and several years of experience, but I have come to terms with the fact that I don’t want to do or wish to continue on my chosen path for too much longer and have looked at the possibility of going back to school for Industrial Design since that is what I’ve always had an interest in and see positions where I have some of the experience but not the degree side of it.

Due to my current location, I only seem to have limited choices one being The Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale.

Can anyone give me their opinions on the program and the school in general, what is their job placement ratio in the marketplace? Do they just have the Bachelor’s Degree program, no Associates and do they have classes for working professionals since I work a full-time job now?

Thanks!

The program is solid and vastly improved from where it was 6 years ago. The program was a “typical” Ai program and only a two year school then. Now it is a 4 year BS and is based in the real world. The faculty is diverse and strong. Many sponsored projects, good process and technology.

As with any school that you are considering, you need to go check it out. Talk to the chair. Talk to students, and look at work.

The Ai schools are big on “selling graduate placement” to potential students. This is not a good way to sell…look at the specific program.

Recent Grads work on this Site

Thanks for info, looks like a small % of the listed graduates have positions, not very motivating but for South Florida and Florida in general that’s typical so I’ll give them the benefit of the doubt. Jobs and good ones at that, are very hard to find if not impossible in some fields here.

Unfortunatley, if I can’t take night classes then this will not be possible at this time. I can’t quit my current job and go to school full-time wish I could, so it looks like I have no options at this time.

What industry are you in currently?