Art History to ID

the situation:

I’m a sophmore and I’m studying abroad for a year in Munich. I’m currently studying art history at a rigorous college but I can’t seem to get design out of my head. I spend most of my free time looking at websites, reading magazines, and reading books about design history…Although I would love to be on the creative end of ID most of my exposure is not pencil to paper. I’ve taken a few art classes here and there (weekend classes, I spent one summer at RISD for painting) but I have a non-existent portfolio.

questions:
I know that in the end I want to be doing some kind of creative field…most likely ID.
Should I finish up my bachelors and then apply to an ID program? (I want to do undergraduate because I want to really work on my foundational skills)

Should I focus on creating a portfolio and apply to an ID program this fall?

Should I take a year off, work on my portfolio and basic technical skills and then apply?

Factors:
I am lucky enough that money really isn’t a major problem

I really need a program where I can develop my basic skill set

While I like academic work, I’d prefer to spend most of my time in a studio

I’m also worried about waiting too long to get into the field…I want to be young enough to have the flexibility for the initial period of low wages etc.

sorry for being so long-winded, thanks for any advice you could give.

monica

Begin with the end in mind.

If you want this to be your goal:

Maybe look to jump into a program with a heavy studio focus. Pratt, Art Center, CCS … talk with the admissions people, and see what you need to get in. It is easier to figure out where you want to be, then backtrack to find out what you have to do to get there…