Are Designers Work-a-holics? What about down time?

I have been noticing a bit of a trend and that is that designers never seem to get away from their work. We sketch on our down time, we analyze every product around us and we even blog about it. It may just be me but I tend to think about my work even when I am at home watching TV or on the weekends I will notice a packaging solution that prompts an idea and I immediately have to sketch it out or right it down.

So my question is how do all of you break yourselves from this? What do you do to shut down you mind from your job? I know as a designer is just as much a lifestyle as it is a profession, but we all need down time.

I’m not a professional industrial designer yet, but design is just how my brain is wired. Its the way I think and its what I like to involve myself in. As far as shutting my mind down from it, I guess I don’t intentionally try to. Even if I’m doing something as “mindless” as video games, I can’t help but notice little things that get my brain going in that direction.

Design is a constant thing in your life once you get used to it. You are always going to be thinking about stuff no matter what the situation. you get inspiration from life. The stuff you see around will have either a positive or negative effect for the most part. so if you see something that inspires you go a head and jot it down. Honestly, it’s a curse and a blessing. you will continually see stuff that needs fixed/changed or draw inspiration from, might as well embrace and move on so you can still have a somewhat normal life.

Are we work-a-holics? Most likely this is a big yes. My experiences are mainly in architecture, but no matter what, there will always be a way to make something better. You can work yourself to death dealing with issues that no one is even going to care about. You just have to learn when to say when.