Are any 3D programs "intuitive"?

I’m learning SolidWorks 2004 and find it annoying. I hate having to switch between modes, such as 3D sketching and drawing on faces, then needing to exit sketching to morph a volume. I really don’t like how SolidWorks doesn’t let you do certain operations in some modes. For example if you are working in normal sketch mode (not 3D sketch) it seems you can’t do a “sweep”. It seems random when certain operations are not allowed.

I’m sure SolidWorks has some great qualities if you want to specify pipe fitings, but I find it to quirky for dealing with less predictable shapes.

Disclosure: I’m not an industrial designer. I’m doing an ID class at the moment to broaden my skill set, but my background is usability, hence my impatience with clumsey software.

What CAD is easiest, that still does something meaningful?

This is bound to get lots of personal choice responses, but so far I like the interface to Ashlar Vellum Xenon/Cobalt (using it on the Mac, but PC is supposed to be the same). It’s intuitive, has no dongle, and is relatively inexpensive.

…but really, none of them are totally intuitive UI’s.

Good luck

…intuitive and meaningful are relative i suppose…over the last 20 years i have had to learn seven different cad software packages (a-v not one of them, so i cannot speak to it)…surfaces create geometry something like a carpenter would (one stick at a time) and solids create geometry something like a sculptor or a potter might (remove a chunk/add a chunk)…an over simplification to be sure…solids do it quickly and surfaces allow more control…parametric solids take it to another level altogehter…most gui’s can be tweeked to your needs or preferences once you learn the software command structure…personally, i agree with the you on the module to module switching thing common to solids, so a good surface program like alias or rhino works for me and i can still do quick boolean ops with solids when needed…