Architecture vs design

Coming towards the end of my uni-time, I’ve started thinking of why I chose design over architecture.

Now facing the professional world, I feel like architects have the benefit of making lasting impressions on the world (design of products is not often that “permanent”), architects are often more “recognized” (I feel people often think I just sit around thinking of pretty colours…) and I’d love not constantly having to explain what a designer actually does (and endure the weird looks I sometimes get after…well I do live in Norway, maybe it’s not the same in other parts of the world!)

Anyone had these same thoughts, and what did you end up doing in the end?

I feel they can never be opponents in any game…Agreed that architeture has its own charisma and grandeur attached to itself…and design is much more than playing with color pallette.But ultimately, it all boils down to designing experiences…
I am also an architect turned into product desiger and presently working as an user interface designer.and it takes long to explain to people what do i do… :slight_smile: I feel, i can anytime get back to designing houses, buildings coz i am and i will only intend to design an experience for the end user.Be it spatial or tangible…

IDS major, but I love looking at architecture as a source for inspiration.

biggest difference of ID vs. arch-

1. scale/tolerances. ID often deals with things at a millimeter or thousands of an inch scale and tolerances of fractions of millimeters. Arch is more in a scale of feet/inches with tolerances up to multiples of inches (depending on construction).

2. 1 designer vs. teams. An ID product can come from the mind (and pretty much be realized) by one designer (depending on the product, some of course involve engineers, etc.). Architecture rarely is the result of a single designer. Even the “name designers” (ie. Gehry, etc.) have teams of architects working on different parts, draftsmen, structural engineers, etc.