architecture/design studies

Hello all, I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I have some questions, and I was wondering if you could help me out.

Basically, I want to go on to take architecture and/or design, and practice these as a job at a firm. I am a first-year at the University of Toronto, and I’m working on my second semester. The plan was for me to take the undergraduate architecture option here, but unfortunately I missed the cutoff by 2% (very frustrating). I am not worried so much about taking undergraduate architecture, since what I need to practice arc is a grad degree. So I was planning on taking arc at the graduate level and doing Film and Art History at the undergrad (practical art courses at the UofT are awful, apparently).

What worries me about all this is that I am not a seasoned artist, and thus I have no portfolio, so to speak. I have moderate skill in Photoshop, and I’ve been told my photography is above average, but aside from that I’m pretty much on my own. I am awful at drawing (and always have been, practice hasn’t helped much), and I can’t use CAD or 3D Studio Max to save my life.

Basically, what I’m wondering is, how would I go about starting to prepare a portfolio over the next three years? The way I figure, the sooner I start, the better the finished product will be, right?

actually you don’t need a Master’s to design buildings at all. that degree is only for their licence.
It’s the civil engineer’s stamp that gets a building built - only 8/9% of buildings use architects.
Why wait 3 more years to study what you love? Do you see yourself as a film-maker someday?

Move. transfer out.

I would like to study at the graduate level as well and get accreditation… as far as I know, the Architecture Board or whatever its called for north america only licenses those who have a professional (or graduate) degree.