architects in other fields of design

Architects over years have the tendency to crossover into other fields of design, namely product design. Is there anything unique they can offer to the field? can they make better industrial designers? or are they just ego centric people who think they can?.. any thoughts?

I’d say neither, maybe both…

As creative individuals we all have thoughts and curiosities outside of our specialized fields.

i was an architect in my previous career to being a ninja messiah.

actually, i made it through 3 years of architecture before transferring to product design.

architects don’t really make terrific product designers. in my specialty, furniture, i run across a lot of architects who love to play in furniture design. they are terrible. they seem to like to use product design as an outlet for a repressed creativity without regard for cost and manufacturability, let alone end-user considerations.

my personal take is that architects feel they can control another aspect of the spaces and environments they create trhough product design. in reality, it’s an illusion.

[quote=“Kung Fu Jesus”]
my personal take is that architects feel they can control another aspect of the spaces and environments they create trhough product design. in reality, it’s an illusion.

haha…being a licensed architect and trying to figure out industrial design, I have to agree to what you said…its not necessary that if you can design one, you can design all. The design processes for each are completely different and it would be interesting if one affects or inspires the other.

Norman Foster- bath and yacht design

Zaha Hadid- Furniture and lighting

i design bespoke architectural LED lighting, its a newish area and architects/lighting designers come to me with an idea/concept/effect/product they want for a new project,