arch undergrad > id grad

i have a 5 yr arch degree and am looking at ID grad schools.

i thoroughly enjoy design theory but i would like to study and work on projects that have a chance of being manufactured. so the schools on my list are: cranbrook, risd, pratt & iit.

i’ve read some remarks on other postings about how risd is theory based and does not focus on the professional concerns of id… so, i was curious if obtian a masters from a theory based school, such as risd, will id firms be reluctant to hire.

any other input on these schools or additional schools would also be appreciated.

hugs&kisses
fldsgn

Please, read the rest of the threads concerning getting a Masters in ID, and especially the ‘If I knew then what I know now’ one.

The short version is: unless you want to become a tenured professor, a Mastes has little/no value in the workplace, there’s simply no way a two-year degree can prepare you for the profession - or compete against 4 year degree’d undergrads for jobs. Period.

What can be said of RISD can be said of Cranbrook, if you really want to become a professional industrial desinger then apply to the various ‘best design school’ threads.

thanks for the advice. that is great help because i do not want to be stuck in the same rut i am now… throughout my education in architecture i gradually became more experimental, highly design oriented and stumbled into the realm of industrial/product design my last year. i finished school and decided i did not want to work at an arch firm for a while because i wanted more design control than the profession had to offer me. so for the last year and a half, i have a degree but i am working at a restaurant bartending. i want my further education to land me a job that will accomodate design this time around.