Approach to ID Career / School Advice / Non-School Advice

Hey guys and gals,

I’ve been working for a couple years in Austin, TX as an independent inventor (among other jobs), coming up with ideas, hiring out an ID firm here in town, and in doing so have licensed a patent for one product (it’s actually on the market- though not selling very well) and am nearing completion of final prototype on a second product with hopes of licensing it in the near future.

That said, it takes too damn long, costs too much money, hinders artistic control, etc. to continually hire out an ID firm to bring my ideas to life. I’m seriously considering returning to school so that I can more easily take an idea from sketch to prototype to production (whether on my own or working for an ID company), but my drawing/design skills are weak and I have no experience whatsoever with CAD or Pro E or any real prototyping work of my own. I see it all in my head and can sort of sketch out ideas so that my ID firm can bring it to life, but I want to be able to do it on my own. I love simple solutions, clean lines, bursts of color, and much prefer designing organizational/lifestyle items and furniture to super-technical, highly engineered stuff like transportation devices, etc…

So, apologies for the long-windedness, but any suggestions on schools for someone in my boat? Grad or undergrad? A la carte classes instead of full program? I’d much prefer to stay in the South and Savannah seems to really be calling my name (even though I haven’t visited yet), but any feedback would be much appreciated. I’ve spoken with SCAD reps and they think I should apply for grad program since I have experience in ID profession, but I’m not so sure an undergrad program wouldn’t do the trick. Thing is I’d really like to avoid more than 3 years of school. I’m taking drawing and design classes in Austin this winter to try and get things rolling. Any other advice would be much appreciated.

Merry merry. – Don Weir