Applying to ID program at SJSU

Hi everyone,
I am currently a 4th year at University of California, Irvine, about to graduate spring 08 with a BA Studio art degree and digital arts minor. Over the past few months I have been researching Industrial design because I am very interested in pursueing it as a career. I have a few questions.

1. To apply to San Jose State, what units are transferrable to the ID program there, being a studio art Graduate with a B.A? Also, who in the department should I contact to ask further detailed questions pertaining to me applying there for Fall 08?

2. Currently I work as a graphic designer part time, and have been made an offer upon graduation to continue working there for a decent salary. However, I have already decided I want to pursue ID as my career instead of graphics. But, the catch is that I do need the money to put myself through school a second time for ID, so would it be possible to go to CSULB instead while working simultaneously? (my job is in socal)

3. Which program is better SJSU or CSULB? for the money, and location my choices have to be between those.

4. Any other advice on getting my B.S. in industrial design being a student who has a previous B.A. in an art field, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

-jt

SJSU only offers a B.S. not a Masters. It seems like SJSU and CSULB are pretty comparable though I don’t know too much about CSULB. At SJSU, pretty much no classes ever transfer into the ID curriculum. So, it will take you a minimum of 4 years to get a ID degree regardless of how many other classes youv’e taken (the ID curriculim is 4 years just in itself). Go to SJSU.edu to get more info and talk to John McClusky he is the guy in charge.

Personally, I would keep your Graphic Design Job in SoCal and go to Art Center for a Masters in ID.

bingo

Thank you guys for the responses. I find this forum very informative and helpful.