Anyone out there get 2nd Undergrad in ID?

Has anyone out there gone back for an undergrad degree in ID after studying something else as an undergrad?

I am set on returning to school for ID. It’s a lifelong interest, been considering it for years, but I have a few obstacles.

Briefly, my situation is this: I got a BFA in dance performed for a short time, and at 31 I am basically ready to “retire” and move on to another career. I have a survival job creating presentations for an investment bank that pays very well, but it is not something I want to do with the rest of my life. I have good design, drawing skills (father taught foundation drawing/design at a university) but I have an abysmal transcript (due partially to a drug and alcohol problem) only a few courses in design and art.

So… I don’t feel I am a good candidate for grad programs. I could go back and take some undergrad courses and try to get into grad school after a year or two (looking at Pratt – in NYC). I feel confident about my ability to put together a good portfolio and I do have some relevant work experience. Or… dive right into an undergrad program (Pratt, once again). Either way I would probably finish at about the same time.

On the practical side – how do I pay? I make $75k right now which may wreck my Fin Aid (I know – I will make less in ID after graduating – don’t bother telling me). I will of course, have to quit this job but could make a little money freelancing at night. Not really a design question, but ANY thoughts are appreciated.

I’ve read through all the archive and seen the discussions about grad versus undergrad for people returning to school who got non-design undergrad degrees. My feeling was – yeah that’s an interesting discussion, but for most people grad is probably more practical. So I’ll repeat the question. Has anyone actually gone back for a second undergrad degree or knows someone else who did?