Anyone know much about the ID programs at ASU or UIC?

I was just wondering if anyone could shed some light on this subject.
I’m considering attending either ASU(arizona) or UIC(chicago) for thier ID programs. I havent heard much about these schools, except that they are O.K. Can anyone give me a better description? The reason I chose these schools is because I currently live in tempe,Az. and I’m originally from Chicago. So moving back to Illinois wouldnt be a problem for me.
Hope someone can give me some input!

I graduated from ASU in 2000 (best 7 years of my life! BUUUURP). a professor there,Paul Rothstien, had just introduced the research based/ ethnographic based design to the senior studio. This was a fantastic addition. They have also started doing corporate sponsored programs with Thompspon multimedia that would have been great to be a part of. The program was growing and moving in some good directions whe I left. They have also added some new faculty that I never met, so can’t help you there too much.

I know people who graduated from there and had jobs waiting for them and people who made it all the way through the program and couldn’t find design work to save their lives. I personally stumbled a bit, lots of comments that I needed to show more process and a couple that my portfolio was not finished enough.

Ultimately, you are responsible for your education at any school. You can coast though at Art Center and not be employable, or you can seek out opportunities and exposure, put in extra work and it won’t matter where your degree is from!

Here’s my advice: start with your goal in mind, To get a design job: