Anyone know about Denver?

“Had a job doing production management & technical sales for a laser machining shop for a year that wouldn’t pay me more than $26k … so I quit.”

"have been looking for work for three years and three months now. "

“I managed to fall into some graphic design work somehow (I have no graphic design skills…)”

"I’ve been occasionally freelancing "

“I came out to PDX for the creative/artist vibe and the music scene (I’m an active musician as well),”

"but appropriate job openings, or just job openings at all, are sparse as hell… and getting a ping-back on an application is impossible. "

3+ years out of any field is not good. I’d say the first thing you need to do, is identify what it is that you do. Industrial designer? Machinist? Manufacturing manager? … . ?

No graphic design skills … do you have a degree in Industrial Design? A portfolio? Have you previously worked for a consultancy, or corporate “design” group. Occasional freelance work; what’s occasional, monthly, yearly, bi-yearly… ?

You located to Portland “for the creative/artist vibe and the music scene” what role did industrial design play in making your decision to move to Portland?

Well, that’s more like it. To be honest, your post came off as somewhat of a wannabe rocker, whining about not having any skills … you’re obviously far from that category.

Me, rock, out from under, since the implosion? Same one I’ve been under since I hung my shingle as an industrial designer in 1989 … and when that doesn’t pay for the beans and jeans I operate heavy equipment , and there hasn’t been a whole helluva lot of that kind of activity goin’ on lately either.