Anybody using Form Z?

Being in my industry, Form Z is has become a pretty standard modelling and rendering package. We don’t get into form that are very complex, mosty die-cut panels, extrusions, vac-forms, etc. Alias is frankly overkill for what we do, and thats fine. I never understood alias anyway so it all works out.

Is anyone else using Form Z? Does anyone know of a decent resource for tips, textures, maybe downloads fo stock models etc. that are available in a form Z compatible format? I see tons of sites that support those of you using 3DS Max, but it seems as though I’m all alone here on the Form Z island.

My school chose form-Z as their surface modeling platform. I was never really impressed with form-z. What version are you using? As for downloads you can check out their site, the manual book has a CR-ROM in the back which contain some extra surfaces, but other than that your guess is as good as mine? Sorry I can’t help you out.

I’ve been using form z for almost ten years now. it’s a great application, and is only getting better, your right about alias for most of us alias is overkill. as far as models, with the latest version I’ve had great luck importing 3ds files into formz and it now allows that on the mac version as well. formz models are had to come by. someone should start a sight that would collect formz models and allow free downloads like 3d cafe does. hmmmmm

Can you import a 3DS file into FormZ directly or does one have to first make it a dxf or something?

I like using Form Z and I agree that with each new release, it gets better to use. My big probl;em has been that I’ve never worked anywhere that had another person using any kind of 3D design software and as such didn’t have anybody around to learn from. I’ve always been left to my own devices and I’m ready to kick it up to the next level.

I currently am running version 5.5 on a PC.

Can you import a 3DS file into FormZ directly or does one have to first make it a dxf or something?