Anybody could give me some advices?

Hi :slight_smile: Eveybody.

It’s been 2 weeks since i realised that now when i’m designing shoes i’m most of the time influenced by an existing shoe on the market today. Consequently, all my new design look “DejaVu”. I dont now if it’s because i look and learn so much on existing shoes these days but it really does influence my design decisions when i’m sketching.
Today i decided to design an Adidas Basketball shoe, it turned out the same way…I dont know?
Here is one of the sketches i decided to go for, Let me know if it looks like it has been done before and any advices will really help.

I’m not a shoe designer, but one approach for any design effort is to look outside of the industry topic/industry in question. Look for influences from consumer electronics or automotive design (the obvious), maybe architecture (may influence new structure), even package goods companies (think about packaging a ‘foot’!).

The addidas shoe inspired by Audi TT is an example.
http://www.audiworld.com/news/00/kobe/content.shtml

I think there have also been iPhone inspired shoe concepts on core too.

Asking questions like, ‘what makes this a basketball show?’ (just hi-top?), ‘what makes it Adidas?’ (three stripes?), can only help move perspective beyond ‘applied design’. The deeper you go to understanding a shoe’s function, a Brands attributes, user desires, and the influence of current trends should help inspire you, and lead to inspiring work.

Good Luck!

I’ve notice your same observation of yourself. Alot of the shoes you have posted on here look very good, but almost all of your shoes have a very similiar shape, and style. All your shoes have been basketball shoes also. One thing you could do is design different types of shoes. Try doing a lifestyle shoe(ex. Puma), or a running shoe, or cleat. I notice the same problem with myself. I was comfortable with bball shoes but moving into another category should challenge you more.