any other good west coast schools

Are there any other good west coast schools other than art center? What about Long Beach States program?Has anyone heard anything about that program?

check-out Arizona State University.

Maybe San Jose State… I believe at least one Astro went there…not too familiar.

CCA (formerly CCAC in SF, CA) has its moments. Rough around the edges. but good. bad $$$

No, no SJSU

sfsu has a program, don’t know if its any good, but they have one.

I graduated from CCAC a couple of years ago and we had a really strong graduating class. A couple of years before and after us were strong to decent. The school is going through changes right now and ID isn’t as high on the list of priorities. It is a great place to go if you’re concerned with concept and ecology. It’s expensive, but they have money to give if it’s your first degree. It’s in SF, too. Hard to beat on the west coast.
good luck.

Cal State Long Beach has a very good “nuts and bolts” program. You won’t learn how to draw like an art center kid… but you can supplement that on your own time and save $. I think it’s definitely worth checking out.

I got a BA from SFSU and am having to really work hard to keep up at the Academy of Art University. It’s my first semester there. -Loads of homework.
SFSU’s program is underfunded and out of line with industry needs.

AAU is very concerned with industry needs and grads are working at places like Nike and FuseProject. Tom Matano (Director) wants to compete with Art Center and is directing his energies thusly. If you attend AAU, you will be working with students who are going to get good jobs. Whether you get the good jobs depends on you.

I’ve got two classmates from Arizona State. Both are struggling to draw like the kids from Korea who have loads of talent. however, ASU seems to have a good progam, just not “art” oriented.