Any ID'ers who also have interior design backgrounds?

Just curious because I am currently attending school for ID but am thinking of doing a double major in Interior Design as well. I really love both disciplines. It would be a degree in ID with a concentration in interior design, as my advisor told me. I do see somewhat of a connection between the two disciplines but at the same time, lots of differences. I feel it will be to my advantage to have another design discipline under my belt and be more marketable and also broaden my job search upon graduation. Thnx.

I graduated from with a BFA in industrial design but the summer before my senior year I took an internship at an exhibit design firm. From there, I decided to take a retail design class and an interior drawing class, but of which solidified my interest in interior design.

After graduation I took a job with a great retail design firm and have been there for 3 years now.

There are many IDers in the retail design field. Our president and also our creative director are both ID grads.

The connection between the two fields is greater than most think. We design “products” on a daily basis. The products just happen to be furniture, cabinetry, fixtures, lighting, etc.

I could go on and on…

email me if you want to discuss the options further.

jknodell@jonathanknodell.com

Good luck!

-JK

Maybe I should rephrase my question. :slight_smile:

Has anyone gone on to major in 2 design disciplines, while in school and graduate with a double or dual major, such as Industrial/Interior design, etc??

Just curious and how that worked out for you and in your career. Thanks.