Any hope for Photoworks?

So I’ve been using SW/Photoworks for two years…and in that time have been able to achieve some decent renderings…occasionally finding myself cleaning them up in Photoshop afterwards to reach my visual desire. I started with Photoworks 1 in SW 2003…and then moved onto SW’04 and PW2. But most of the time I find myself going back to Photoworks1.

I realize Photoworks is far from a “desired” rendering package…I usually just use it due to its integration with SW. I am starting to find myself lusting after other product renderings…not being able to achieve the same effect in Photoworks.

I’m sure that some other firms do use Photoworks…I remember IDEO had a phone/PDA tutorial online last year that achieved a nice end result. The more I search though, I can hardly find any examples of decent renderings by Photoworks. Does anyone even use PW anymore? I have found the standard examples of the toaster, R/C car, and Lego car…but I never find any others.

SW 2005 is coming out soon (or maybe just came out) but I’m not sure many revisions were made to PW.

Just curious if any other designers are frustrated with Photoworks:

1. What are your complaints?

2. What package would you switch to…(or have switched to)

3. Is it worth the extra effort of exporting from SW to another program…if time is an issue…only to achieve a slightly better effect?

Thanks for any input :slight_smile:

I started a new job two months ago and had Solidworks 2004 installed on my system. I tried Photoworks for all of a week and said screw it! First off there is no real control over camera position or FOV/persepective (a necessity for a rendering program as far as I am concerned). I don’t care much for the interface either - very counter intuitive. The material editor is a joke.