Any designers here ever thought about a Fine Art Atelier

Hey guys,

I am an Industrial Designer with a strong fine art background. I am a senior right now, and trying to figure out what career path I want to take when I graduate. My portfolio is stuffed with great things. I work my ass off so I am not worried about appearance; just worried about finding the right job and not selling out.

I was working today in a really nice metals shop welding a floor light (very sculptural). One of the sculpture grad students starting telling me that he admired my wide range of fabrication abilities and thought that since I am right in between Industrial Design and Fine Art and Engineering, a great job would be to work for an Art Atelier or some kind of Fabrication company. I strongly agree! I just don’t know where to start looking other than with him. I will be living in the Chicago area. Do any of you know of any companies like this anywhere in the city or maybe a really good one somewhere in the States?

Thanks!

Google are a wonderful thing… “atelier chicago” revealed: http://www.morlensinoway.com/

Try any number of search keyword; custom furniture fabricators, custom steel fabrication, custom lighting, etc.

Lol. Yes it is. I have seen those guys before (nice stuff), but I know there are plenty more that aren’t on google. You can’t find EVERYTHING on the internet. I always see ads for Ateliers in fine art magazines and word of mouth. This forum I am assuming is meant for fellow designers to share knowledge.

You are assuming (sometimes a dangerous practice) correctly!

You mentioned “art magazines”. Metropolis Magazine (more “interior” oriented) used to list “fabrication” and other custom services in a section at the back; DesignMart. They now have an online (there’s that pesky internet thing again) section, but it might be a useful source for locating some leads.