Another VISA question

Does H visa allow me to work and study at the same time? Eg. Work full time for a company and take classes as a part time student to pursue a masters degree.

If not, is there any kind of VISA that allows me to do so?

yes it allows you to go to school at the same time, but will not allow you to get a job somewhere else. H visas usually have about a 3-year span and allows you to renew twice, then you can apply for a greencard.

i’ve known a lot of animators who were recruited by bigtime studios here via H1-B. some of them went to school while working.

hope this helps :slight_smile:

Cool, exactly what I hope for. Now I just need to get a visa…

A friend of mine is a full time student but she doesn’t have a student visa. She does have a work visa. She claims you can’t get both at the same time. I know that she needs to earn a certain amount of money to keep her work visa.

where are you based at now, MC, if you don’t mind me asking?

Oh I’m a student in the US. I just want to plan ahead.

Could you find out more from her?

I plan to get a full time job( if I do), and take masters at the same time as part time student.

thanks to all of you btw!!

Hi M_C,

I have previously been on an H-1B visa and pursued further study while on the visa so yes it is possible to do so. At the time, my employer actually covered the cost of furthering my education so long as it was of use to the company eg. a Masters or even an MBA would have been viewed as beneficial. (Unrelated education was potentially at your own expense.)

BTW, as soon as you hit the shore with a work visa, if you have any intention of staying, start your Greencard application. It takes anywhere from approximately 3 to 5 years and a decent lawyer (cost roughly US$2500). I highly recommend not trying to do the documentation for the Greencard on your own. Just not worth risking a rejected application…it will come back to bite you. (That counts double for the H visa.)