Another Career Changer...

I recently graduated with a degree in architecture(Upenn), but have decided to go a different route. I have been working in the architecture field for a couple years, but my love of footwear and sneaker culture has taken control of my life. I will be attending the Academy of Art in persuit of a master’s degree in industrial design. I was wondering if there are any footwear design firms in the San Francisco area offering internships, though I am not sure that my limited experience would warrant me one. If that is not an option, what other industries in the area do you recommend looking into for experience towards my ultimate goal of being a footwear designer?

Another idea I have been tossing around is finding a unique shoe store, preferably owned by a “sneakerhead”, and trying to get a gig there. I figure that may be a good place to start by learning the trends and when the new kicks are coming out. Also hearing about those limited editions and their stories. Anybody have any interesting experiences in starting a career in footwear, outside of the big name internships?

If you want to get into sneaker buying in retail, working in a sneaker store is the best way to start. I don’t think it hurts to work in a sneaker store if you want to get into product development either. Understanding the customers needs is the most important thing after all, be they famous athlete or ordinary Joe.

Yo ScriptD,