Alternative jobs for a industrial designer...?

Most industrial design grads don’t end up doing actual product design.

In the current climate I thought it might be good to start a list of alternative jobs for a industrial design grad

Here are a few to start us off…

Draughtsman
CAD Surface modeller
Design technology teacher (high school)
interaction designer
point of sale (POS) designer
exhibition designer
packaging designer
Footwear designer
graphic designer
interface design
Human factors consultant
Model maker
Clay sculptor

POP point of purchase

Technical Illustrator
Game Designer - Level Designer - World Builder
Prop Designer
Painter
Fabricator
Furniture Builder
Cabinet Maker
Exhibit Designer
Architectural Illustrator

Heh, this post IS MY LIFE.

I graduated with a degree in furniture design/id.
Now I work for hollywood in post production getting my IxD, UI chops together.

I just HAD to finish in May of 08.

Wow, well I got my work cut out for me next year. I really hope I’m good enough to get that crucial first job in the design world…

Excellent

Just be driven and don’t give up. This is a good thread because it shows that not everyone works for that prestigious design firm, and we all have to take those crap jobs once in a while.

You may consider any of the following depending on your skill-set:

• P0rn Star (how awesome would that be)
  • Gigolo (see above)
  • Bartender (could be cool, meet lots of “interesting people”)
  • Drug Dealer (see above)
  • Flight Attendant (see the world)
  • Used Car Salesman (nah, maybe not, economy sucks)
  • Construction (this one is kind-of serious, you would learn a lot)
  • Janitor (seems appropriate, you know we are all neat freaks)