Alias VS Solidworks

I have been using Alias for 10 years and now I am considering broadening my 3d modeling skills and I am considering learning Solidworks, I have seen many tutorials and it seems to be a very powerful but the best feedback comes form actual users this is why I am creating this post

Say you had to model a bike helmet like the one below, which of the 2 s would be the best to do the job? I would also like to know if SW has the same surface modeling capabilities as Alias? and, How does it behave modeling complex organic shapes like the helmet?

I have recently discovered Sensable´s Freeform, it seems like an excellent tool specially with the Phantom arm device, does anybody know its weaknesses/strengths and retail price

I can’t speak to Alias and Solidworks specifically, but I do know about Alias and Pro/E. As a implementation consultant for PTC (maker of Pro/E), I visited companies like Price-Pfister. They designed the freeform surfaces for their faucets in Alias. They then exported the surface data to Pro/E where the “mechanical” bit of the design was completed. I found this to be a common product development scenario. I’m sure the same applies for Solidworks.

Thank you Rod for your feedback, that is how I usually work with Alias but I am wondering if Solid Works could manage to do both things, great surface development and strong engineering capabilities. I am wondering if it could be the one software solution that solves all the problems.

I don’t claim to be an expert in SW. I mainly have the software to open customer files, then export them to STEP to open in Pro/E.