AIPH? anyone heard of it?

im currently enrolled at the Art Institute of Philadelphia, when i look at all the top schools listed on core77…i dont see my school anywhere…now i know there are a bunch of schools not listed buttt…i was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on the Art Institute Industrial Design program.???

I graduated from the AIP (Art Institute of Pittsburgh) in industrial design. I thought the program was amazing when I first got there. At the time only Pittsburgh and Denver offered a bachelor’s degree in ID at the Art Institutes. This may have changed since then.

The AIP only had one actual professor, and he was hung up on his own ego, so getting him to actually teach and not talk about himself was a real problem for my classmates and me. Some of the other instructors knew what they were talking about and provided more useful information in their classes, but not enough at times. He left my last year so nobody has to worry about him anymore.

The design curriculum at AIP was well balanced. They offered automotive, environmental, furniture, game & toy, recreational, and product design courses. The instructors who taught these classes didn’t have a background in any of the classes they were teaching. It would be like me teaching a class about automotive design with a background in the soft goods industry. There wasn’t much theory to the explanations what so ever.

There was a lot of hands on work building models and prototypes, which was great, but I don’t utilize these skills now, I wish I did. The drawing classes were definitely geared toward graphic design students. They were a mix of graphic, interior and industrial design students. The instructors didn’t want to address ID drawing, because they knew nothing about it. They need to address industrial design sketching for and industrial design degree in my opinion. I basically had to learn from books.