Advice Requested ASAP...freelance offer

Hi everyone,

I just received an offer to do some freelance work for an ID firm. They are offering what seems to me a very low level of compensation. The package is this:

A few weeks guaranteed work in their studio, at $15/hr. for 8hrs. a day.

Now, I’ve been out of school a little over a year. During that time I haven’t held a junior industrial design position, but I have had one ID internship in addition to working as a commercial artist at a firm, so I’m not a complete newb. In addition, my ID skills are pretty solid.

I’ve heard that a freelancer should ask for $25-$50/hr. in compensation. As a Junior Designer, I would make $34-$42k/year judging from my experience. That’s $17-$21/hr. plus some benefits.

It seems to me it would be fair to make a counter offer for $25/hr.

Thoughts? Suggestions? I need to respond to them within the next 12 hours.

Considering you could work at a manufacturing plant with just a high-school diploma for that amount (or more!), I’d say that countering for $25/hr isn’t out of the question at all.

I would look at it a little differently. If it is somewhere you want to work and it will really build your portfolio. I would consider just taking the amount offered since you do not have a great deal of experience and the more experience you get the easier it will be to find a good paying job.

If it is something your doing and it is not really somewhere you want to go then ask for the money. But be warned in this economy more then likely they will just ask someone else. There is very little leverage in this economy.