Advice on getting an internship in New York

Hello all!

I’m a Colombian Industrial Designer currently living in Sydney, Australia. I came to Sydney to study a Master of Design in Branding and I just finished my studies. As the Industry in Australia is pretty small compared to the Industry in the U.S, and also cause NYC is my favorite city in the world, I’m now looking forward to going there for a couple of months to work as an Intern Designer.

There are a couple of things I would love you guys to give me some advice on.

First, I only have my Tourist Visa to go to the U.S, so I can stay there for up to 6 months. there is a chance of getting a proper J1 Visa but the agencies that help getting this charge quite a few bucks, so do you thing that I would need to get a J1 Visa to get an Internship? or would it be possible to get one just with my Tourist Visa? I mean, the Internships are usually non-paid or they just give you some money to help you with your basic expenses.

1. I love Furniture Design and I also have some experience doing so by working for a mid-size Furniture Manufacturing company back in Colombia. But I’m very interested in the Design of Branded Environments, which includes everything from the design of public spaces, offices, retail, building interiors, and corporate facilities, etc… but I do not have any experience on that, so when sending a resume I just don’t know the best way to sell my self to win the position!
    Any opportunity I get in Any of these areas would be perfect, you know… but I don’t want to sound like I’m just looking for “ANYTHING” that comes by.

How’s the Furniture and the Environments Design (branded) market in New York? what do you guys think is easier to find? and… do you know any companies I could write to?