Advice on career direction

I need help! I am a middle aged worker in the Industrial Design field.
I been in the automotive business for about twenty years here in the midwest ( I won’t say where).I worked as a cardboard,clay,foam model maker. I worked as a technical illustrator putting together manuals,I worked
in a studio setting and in a prototype shop.I am trained in different CAD
systems but I have very little experience in it. There are alot of CAD jobs but they (the employers) want at least 3 years of experience.How is a person suppose to get experience if they don’t spent time in front of the tube?I have tried suppliers and staffing companies but they tell me that if they find a match with my skills and experience they will call me.Is there something I can do with my ID background? Can my fellow ID comrades give my some advice?I redid my resume’ and polished my portfolio to my standout with the best of my abilities.I NEED help because this is very depressing and I FEEL that going in the ID field have been a waste! I’m sorry if this letter is a little long and I DON’T want be seen as a crybaby but
I NEED SOME ADVICE

You’ve got alot more skills than most designers already.
You know how to make, you know how to model, you see in three dimension better than most and you are a problem solver.
Do you really want to sit ‘only’ in front of a computer?!!
Focus your attention on your strengths, diversify and let people know what you are good at as a manager, developer, designer, etc.
Then hire me, my gig is up soon developing a product line for an upstart!
Perhaps you should think of a partnership, are you flush?
I’ve got a few ideas for you!!!

Good luck

pade

We are in the same boat ABS, if by middle-aged, you mean 50+.