Advice for those looking for work

Thought it might be good to have an on going discussion with words of advice for those looking for work or coming up to graduation.

I graduated this summer in the UK from the BA Design For Industry course at Northumbria University and lucky to have been in the position to choose between a few jobs. I can however see the problems others are having at getting work as it can be tough. That said there are still lots of jobs out there even if they are shorter term contracts or freelanced based. My feeling is the recession shouldn’t be used as an excuse for not being able to find work, it should be an incentive to be more proactive.

The problem is that at the end of year design shows and exhibitions lots of graduates were expecting to be offered work through being approached. After talking to lots of fellow graduates one of my biggest shocks was the lack of placements and internships undertaken during their study and the lack of basic design skills. I’m no expert but I’ve come to some conclusions abouthow to look for work after graduation basically based on how I’ve done things and whats worked for me,

will be good to hear others ideas.

My advice for people in a position of ‘no work’ is to do the following:-

1. If you have no internship experience - get some, 6months at the minimum as real world experience is crucial, why in a time of crisis would a company even think of employing somebody who hadn’t even set foot in a commercial design environment before. If the internship is unpaid, don’t moan about having no money, work the weekend in a bar and nights in a resturant to pay your accommodation.

2. Approach and Network - Get a website, print off portfolios, go to the companies, talk to people, build up a Linkedin network. Sending emails off left right and center will not get you anywhere as its soul-less and impersonal, make a phone call or knock on the door.