Advice for finding a Product Design job in NYC

I have been out of school for about a year and half and got my bachelors in product design from one of the most expensive private schools out there.
I am no CAD monkey. I know Solidworks well and I actually teach it at a school here in NYC but I’m not up to snuff with the other CAD heads in the area. They blow me away. I’m a great teacher but its an introductory course so I’m not really teaching the hard stuff. just the basics.

I have landed some freelance over the past year and also worked for on of my favorite conceptual designers. they ended up paying me shite and kind of taking advantage of my fabrication skills. Using my eagerness to work as an excuse to pay nothing to produce their limited edition products. live and learn.

at the time i thought they would help me by introducing me to people an opening doors to the industry. neither of those two things happened. and when i told them i needed more money for the things i was producing they pretty much forgot about me. I also tried to get them to refer me to some of their designer friends but i got nothing.

So I started my own company doing conceptual type design and got up enough money to have a show in Manhattan. it was awesome. but ultimately like with most start ups the money ran out and there is no way for us to fund marketing the products. it was no small feat building this company from the ground up. branding to advertising to concept development to product development. video editing. so much went into this company just for the money to run out. the experience was amazing