Adidas Caiman Rugby Boot Concept

Hi all, I’m a student studying product design at university in the UK and am a long time reader of these forums, but this is my first post! I was just looking for some critical feedback on this preliminary design for a rugby boot I am designing for one of my projects at the moment.

The idea of the boot is based around the current trend in rugby players to wear football boots (particularly the backs), sacrificing important heel/ankle support. I was also looking to tackle the problem of fixation at the shoe surface interface (which is often a contributor to anterior cruciate ligament injuries in no contact situations). The current idea revolves around studs that retract into a deformation layer which deforms under natural forces (relates to total ground reaction force) when the player is running in hard or soft ground conditions.

When the studs retract into the layer (in hard ground conditions) the surface area at the shoe surface interface is increased while also decreasing the impact of the studs on the plantar region of the foot (a problem found in my research.)

I was also wondering if anyone had any ideas on how to model a prototype of it (I have though about making a mould of the sole plate in clay and casting it, whilst actually stitching the upper) - I can perhaps get a last from the fashion department at our uni.

As it stands the design is by no means finalised but any critical feedback on the design itself or the aesthetics is greatly appreciated! I have some more stuff on boards basically where the design and some of the ideas came from.

Thanks for your time, Johnny

Don’t suppose you go Northumbria?