Academy of art

I’m thinking of transfering from miad to academy of art in San francisco, is this a good choice? I want to work somewhere on the west coast so is this a smart move?

I think it depends on what you are looking for the Academy of Art to help you do. Are you looking to make more connections in the industry? San Francisco is a great city for design in general, so in that case it might be worth it to transfer. I am a graduate ID student at AAU and love it here. I came here with the intent of getting into footwear design. It looks like you may be interested in footwear design as well. The Academy of Art does not have any courses in athletic footwear design, but I have had the freedom to do a couple projects involving footwear. I have not had the chance to post any work lately, but hopefully will be able to soon. Either way, good luck to you, and if you have any other questions just ask.

what about the trans department, do students who take those classes there get those kinds of jobs? Did you have good internships, and any footwear opportunities? Also what about the housing and social life?

A good amount of the trans students do seem to land internships and a few are usually hired by the major companies. The work they do is pretty amazing and the classes are very competitive from what I hear.