About prototype companies in America

I am an industrial designer just moved from China, experiencing big difference between China and America, I have some enquiries regard to industrial, I would really appreciate if someone can answer my questions.

When I was in China, there are many independent prototype companies, they can make very fine models within 3-5 business days. The models include electronics, cell phones, and maybe some big items. They looks very similiar to the the real products-- If it’s a cellphone model, some of the keys can be pressed even.

It’s very popular in China to provide such a prototype to client after the 2D design, for presenting and sometimes for market survey. I am wondering if such way is popular in U.S.A. too?

If so, where do industrial design firms to get their propotypes done? Could you give me some links or prototype companies name?

And finally how about the rate?

If anyone knows… Thanks a lot :slight_smile:

We do this quite often as well. Ironically, we use vendors from Asia for this. I know that the larger companies typically have their own model shope. The Teague, Ziba, and IDEOs of the world are who I am referring to.

Feel free to PM me for contacts I have. I would be interested in the companies you used while over in China.

There is a handful of model shops in North America, but I haven’t used them at all.

Everyone I know doing design work does this in one form or another. Sometimes its in house, other times its outsourced. If you are looking for someone local (which is always my preference with model making) what area are you in?

ip_wirelessly and asango, Thankyou for the reply.

Asango, could you give me some local prototype company’s name? I am in Ohio, but would you please give me some company’s in NY and CA as well?

Thanks a lot :smiley:

Also thefirststep2000,what type of product? It will make a difference.

http://www.scottmodels.com/