a Writer needs to get in an I.D.'s mind

Hello Core77 community,

I am a writer currently working on a television script and am in need of some personal insight into the mind and experiences of an industrial designer. Though my writing partner and I have searched through multiple threads on this site(great resource btw), as well as books and youtube and general google searches, we are in a race against a deadline that is quickly approaching and could really use targeted help (hence the mayday post) :unamused: )

Quick background; The main character is fresh out of I.D. school and has an interview lined up at a design firm in NYC. But on the day of the interview he has an anxiety attack and thus doesn’t get the job (nor work in the field for the entire series)

However, there are references to his interest in design throughout the series and a critical day dream like scene where he nails the interview he never had.

We need help on following:

What are some questions an entry level candidate for an i.d. position would be asked?

Is there something specific about industrial design that draws you toward it?

Was there a specific moment when you knew you would become an industrial designer?

You can either post, or if easier, private message me a phone number and we can call or if you live in NYC, we would love to buy you a drink and sit down to get an in depth understanding and help us flush out this character.

Thanks for reading! Any bit of advice or help would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome a_town.

I hope you get a lot of responses because in my experience designer’s origin stories are always very unique. Most parents want their child to grow up to be a doctor, lawyer, plumber, or electrician. Most designers find their path by total accident and sheer will.

My answers to your questions below.

What are some questions an entry level candidate for an i.d. position would be asked?