A ton of questions from a high school student.

Hello. Firstly I’m going to warn you that this is a long read, and that a large portion of it doesn’t relate directly to ID. All replies and advice are extremely appreciated though.

I’d like to first give you a brief background. I’m a high school student (at a school outside of Pittsburgh, PA) who just finished
junior (11th) year, and I’m having a difficult time choosing a major/career and a college to go with it. I’ve always been an avid fan of
video games and I’m leaning towards going into that industry. It’s the creative, design, and storytelling aspects of it that I’m attracted to,
along with the future of technology in that field.

Anyway, if you’re wondering how this applies to industrial design, I am not sure on what to major in. I’m more interested in the design aspect
of video games, as opposed to art or programming, and this pretty much means that a particular degree isn’t necessary. Simply having a degree in something along with a talent/original work for game design is enough to get your foot in the door.

As I stated earlier, I’m from Pittsburgh, and a really big fan of the University of Pittsburgh. My dad lives about 2 miles away, so I’d be able to live there.
It’s significantly cheaper than most other schools considering that my living expenses and tuition would be cheaper, and I also love the area.

Basically, I’m looking for a major that interests me and can provide a backup just in case. I’ve always loved building things, but I’m more interested in larger areas, more than smaller things / products. But architecture is out (too oversaturated and it’s a 5-year intense program) and I’m not sure what else there is, other than landscape
architecture (which is a possiblity, but I’m not crazy about botany, etc.) I know that’s not really this site’s forte, but I figured you may have an idea.

So, my questions are the following: