A Table Designed to Provoke the Spirit of Motorcycling

Hello All,

I’ve been an avidly scrolling through these forums for some time, but have just recently created an account to share my work. Currently, I work as a shop tech in a prototyping facility (Hardware) during the day but am exploring design work in my free time (nights & weekends). I have been able to work in the shop through quarantine, So I’ve spent most of 2020 working on a personal project. I am still actively working on the project, but am hoping to wrap it up soon.

Essentially, my intention for this project is to design a table that provokes the spirit of motorcycling.

I’ve always loved motorcycles and the process of building things (fabrication), but have more recently found a love for architectural design (Richard Rogers, Santiago Calatrava, Zaha, to name a few of my favorites) and am slowly whittling away at defining a design philosophy of my own. I would love any feedback or critique on the project, thus far. I have aspired to explore design around this sort of work since starting my undergrad (graduated in 2018, in Industrial Design), but only recently found the confidence to take the first plunge.

I appreciate your time!

It would be hard to be much more literal than a motorcycle engine bolted underneath a table.

That is a very fair point, I appreciate your comment. I suppose there wont be much room for interpretation, once a viewer registers the engine, as an engine.

My college roommate and I were into picking from the auto scrapyard and we made a few chairs and a table and a clock. They were all chunks of car with a few parts added. It’s really fun to build but nobody appreciated them as much as we did haha. That said, you have put more thought into the design than we ever did. I think it will be very satisfying and impressive to complete a build with some fidelity to your sketches.

Mostly they evoke some fun weekends with friends.