A cold, hard look...

I didn’t know whether to post this here or in the portfolio section since I’m not specifically looking for advice on my portfolio (but if you have any I’ll take it!), but more of an overview and advice on my current situation. I am a mid-senior level designer (depends on the industry, my current title is Senior and I manage a small team) looking for a new job, and I would like to get some insight from the VERY helpful people of the core77 boards. This is probably one of the most professional, on-point discussion boards I’ve seen (and I’ve lurked around here for a while), so I’ll abide by the rules and ‘post up’. Some of you have helped me out or given great advice in the past, so I’m coming back for more.

Preface: I know the market is tough right now, and that I am incredibly lucky to have a job. I count my blessings, so I don’t want this post to come off as whiny or ungrateful. But I am still unhappy in my current position (been here almost 5 years) and do not want to get pigeonholed into this product category (which might have happened already). So here goes:

In my search for a new position, I’ve come to the realization that my experience has shut me out of certain types of design. For example:

Footwear: Would LOVE to get into footwear. I even gave myself a multitude of projects, sharpened my skills, and even whined my way into a footwear project at my current employer. But the hard reality is that at my level (almost 6 years experience in ID) they want a minimum of 3-5 years footwear experience. I’ve even considered taking a paycut and going in as entry level to learn the ropes and work my way up, but any kid with a footwear internship will be more likely to get picked.