3d printers ...

Hello all,

I wanted to get everyone’s pros and cons from their experience with various types of additive prototyping techonologies, specifically, 3d printers. I work in the eyewear industry, so keep that scale of product in mind when responding if you can :wink:

The machines that seem to fit my criteria seem to be the Objet Eden 260v and the 3D Systems ProJet HD3000. My criteria are

(1) Office friendly … this badboy is NOT going to be sitting in the basement or a traditional shop type of environment
(2) High resolution output (we’re talking the 0.010 in range) so they can be finished pretty easily
(3) Reliability … this machine is slated to be a workhorse running more or less day in and day out
(4) Durable parts (somewhat flexible … they are a Nylon material in production) that can be handled and finished into appearance models
(5) “Easy” clean up … the less I have to do the better, the quicker the better. The ideal would be to be able to throw the support material in the trash versus having to go thru some sort of filtering or other type of disposal process that would require additional fit-up in the office (venting, water lines, etc.)
(6) Reasonably-priced consumables (my models are in the neighborhood of 1.5 cubic inches of build material)
(7) High quality support from the reseller
(8 ) To a much lesser degree, the ability to create flexible, rubber-like parts in the Shore hardness range of 30-50

If you can think of another machine besides one of the two I’ve listed above, let me know. Thanks in advance!

interesting,

what does such a machine cost you?
and more importantly, how much will printing and maintaning cost yo with the Eden?

We have and eden 350v, so that’s what i’ll talk about
From what i understand the only difference between 260v and 350v is the build area.